Request information


406 Penn
Camden, NJ 08102

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, embodies the historical development of higher education in the United States. From its colonial inception as Queen’s College in 1766, the institution grew to become Rutgers College in 1825. In 1864 it was designated the state’s land-grant institution. Assuming university status in 1924, it was further transformed by legislative acts in 1945, and in 1956 the institution became Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. 1989 marked another historic milestone when the university became a member of the Association of American Universities (AAU), connoting its position as one of the major public comprehensive research universities in the U.S., and the only one of its kind in New Jersey. Rutgers’ evolution is not yet complete. Strategic goals for Rutgers University established by university president Richard L. McCormick and the Board of Governors in 2004 are intended to provide a pathway for achieving two overarching aspirations for the university — greater academic distinction and more significant service to communities beyond campus, particularly to the citizens of our state. In carrying out its threefold mission of instruction, research and public service, Rutgers strives to uphold the following principles. (See also Appendix A, Mission Statement). To conduct fundamental and applied research, to train scholars, researchers and professionals, and to make knowledge available to students, scholars and the general public. To maintain its traditional strength in the arts and sciences, while simultaneously developing such new professional and career-oriented programs as are warranted by public interest, social need, and employment opportunities. To make its educational programs accessible to an appropriately broad student body. To extend its resources and knowledge to various sectors of the public, and to bring its special expertise to bear on the solution of public problems. In fulfilling its mission of service to the state of New Jersey, Rutgers maintains three main campuses in strategic regions of the state: Camden, Newark, and New Brunswick. In addition, through the extension agents of its agricultural experiment station, Rutgers has a presence in all 21 counties of New Jersey.

Request information